4 No. 42665

GOVERNMENT GAZETTE, 28 AUGUST 2019

GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT

28 AUGUST 2019

NO. 1109

APPOINTMENT OF A COMMITTEE

- By virtue of the powers vested in me in terms of section 14 of the International Trade Administration Act, 2002 (Act No. 71 of 2002), I, Ebrahim Patel, Minister of Trade and Industry hereby appoint the persons listed below as members of the Steel Committee of the International Trade and Administration Commission of South Africa to monitor and make recommendations to the Commission in respect of:
 - 1.1. The impact of the changes in import tariffs and trade remedies applicable to the primary steel industry on:
 - 1.1.1. downstream users in the steel industry;
 - 1.1.2. the pricing of the products of producers in the primary steel industry to downstream users; and
 - 1.1.3. the steel industry generally.
 - 1.2. The commitments made by applicants for such changes in import tariffs and their impact on job creation and job retention, industrial output, investments in plant, equipment, skills, research, development, technology and economic investments;
 - 1.3. Jobs in the full steel industry value chain; and
 - 1.4. Import and export trends in the steel industry value chain.
- 2. The Committee was established in terms of Government Notice No. 40058 for a period of 5 years which started on 10 June 2016. The Commission will comprise the individual

No. 42665 5

members referred to below who are appointed from the date of gazetting of this notice until 9 June 2021:

IT	AC COMMISSIONERS	INDUSTRY REPRESENTATIVES
1.	Ms. Tanya van Meelis	1 Mr. Johann Nei
	(Chairperson)	South African Iron and Steel Institute (SAISI)
2	Mr. Boikanyo Mokgatle	2. Mr. Paolo Trinchero
		Southern African Institute of Steel Construction
		(SAISC)
3	Mr. Etienne Vlok	3. Mr. Colin Hautz
		ArcelorMittal South Africa Limited (AMSA)
4	Mr. Jacobus Cornelius de Beer	4. Mr. Michael Ade
		Industries Federation of Southern Africa (SEIFSA)
5	Mr. Tony Ehrenreich	5. Mr. Neels van Niekerk
		International Steel Fabricators (ISF)
6	Ms. Phozisa Mbiko	6. Mr. Marius Croucamp
		Solidarity
7	Ms. Ayanda Hlatshwayo	7. Mr. Irvin Jim
		National Union of Metal Workers of South Africa
		(NUMSA)

- 3. The Commission will invite **the dtl** and Economic Development Department representatives to the meetings of the Committee and specific industry stakeholders as and when required.
- 4. The Committee shall report to the Commission at least every six months.
- 5. The Committee shall meet together for the despatch of business, adjourn and otherwise regulate their meetings as they deem fit.

Throw Ports

EBRAHIM PATEL MINISTER OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY